A brief embarrassing anecdote

Standard

Uh oh, I almost didn’t make it today. I REALLY want to make it through this month without missing a day, but what does that mean on a day like this, where I ran myself ragged and now I am quite completely drained, both mentally and physically. I mean what is the point of spewing words just for the sake of spewing words? Well all right, I will tell you a little story.

Today is Kurt Vonnegut’s birthday; he would have been 90. The first book of his that I ever read was Slapstick. I was, like, 14 years old. At summer camp no less. And I thought this book was the most hilarious thing ever. I gave it to this other girl to read, and she also thought it was the most hilarious thing ever. In case you aren’t familiar, one of the characters has Tourette’s Syndrome. Well, we spent the entire summer pretending we were also afflicted. Every time we saw each other we would start shouting obscenities and acting loony. And this was the entire basis of my friendship with that other girl. We had nothing else in common. The only thing I can say in our defense was that it never once occured to us that Tourette’s was a real thing. But when I look back on it, I am ashamed.

Hi ho.

4 thoughts on “A brief embarrassing anecdote

  1. We were assigned to read Cat’s Cradle during my freshman year of h.s. I hated it. So a couple of months ago, I thought I’d try reading Slaughterhouse Five thinking as an adult, I might like it. I did at first, but it didn’t pass my 50-page rule, which is kind of hard to figure out on an e-reader. I don’t know what happened. It just failed to hold my concentration.

    • Honestly, I think KV just isn’t everybody’s cup of tea. His writing style is so… extreme… that people are either gonna love it or hate it, but not much middle ground. (Agree? Disagree?) I read Slaughterhouse Five in high school but haven’t read anything of his since then.

      • That’s probably true. I read his son Mark’s book, Just Like Someone Without Mental Illness Only More So. It wasn’t the greatest book in the world, but I liked his writing style better. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

