Random updates

Standard

Well today is the last day of NaBloBlaPoMoRaRaRa. I didn’t even come close to daily posting. However, I did get back into blogging and I have a feeling I’m going to be sticking with it for a while. The blogosphere has changed a lot since my heyday (2006–8) but I’m starting to get the hang of it, I think. So, here are some random tidbits.

Book group. I chickened out. Stayed home. While some books are fun to pick apart, I had nothing but contempt for Racing in the Rain. There were at least two people in the group who loved it and honestly, I didn’t even want to hear their reasons for liking it. I don’t think I could have talked about the book without insulting them, you know? So I didn’t go.

Currently reading. I just started Game of Thrones and it is really interesting. Because I think this might be the first time in my life I’ve ever seen the show first, you know? When I read the book first and then see the movie I am almost always disappointed. But doing it the other way around… I like it! Especially with a book like this. It is so much easier to keep track of the characters and visualize the action. Love it!

Work. I work for a teensy arts nonprofit. We are working on next year’s budget to present to the board. After today’s finance committee meeting I am feeling optimistic about future growth, also I think my job is secure for the next year. Yay! I love love love my job. Even when it drives me crazy (which it frequently does), I know it is the perfect place for me. I am very lucky.

Dad. My dad is turning 80 in a couple of weeks. He is in basically good health. His main complaints are things that are annoying but not the least bit life-threatening, like eczema and leaky tear ducts. But mentally he is definitely showing signs of aging. This next decade is going to be difficult. Both his parents lived well into their 90s.

Kiddos. Heh, today my older son (age 17) realized for the first time that I follow him on twitter. Apparently he also did not know that the entire internet can see his tweets. My phone dinged in the middle of the aforementioned finance committee meeting with a notification that he had tweeted back: “Mom unfollow me NOW.” I can’t wait to discuss this with him when he gets home, bwahahahahahahahahaaaaaa!

Telescope. My husband is at the public library right now checking out a telescope. How awesome is that?

3 thoughts on “Random updates

  1. Well! I wondered where you’ve been! And I won’t say anything about The Game, other than what I just typed.

    I think it’s funny you didn’t go to book group, but it was nice of you not to go. I’m laughing, btw. Are you reading GoT for book group, or just for yourself? I watched the show first, too, but the book really fills in a lot of blanks. When I read the first and second books, they seemed to go a bit slowly, but the 3rd book went quick. Probably because they haven’t aired that season yet, and I was dying, dying, dying to know what happens next.

    Good to know you’ve got some job security, especially because you love your job.

    I have eczema, too, like you really needed to know that. My doctor told me to use CeraVe moisturizing cream, not the lotion. It comes in a tub and you can get it at Walgreens. Who knows? It might help your dad.

    Sometimes I wish I had kids so I could fu@k with them. Hee!

    • Heh, my firstborn and I have basically identical personalities. As a result, I ALWAYS know what he is thinking and how he will respond to things. The temptation to mess with him is constant. ;-)

      GoT is just for me! My book group is actually pretty annoying. I only go about half the time. Before I had kids I was in a really awesome book group where we had a rule that we only picked books no one had read. Also it was mixed gender. This one is all moms and usually only 1 or 2 have actually read the book all the way thru by the time we meet. Or they read it a year ago and don’t remember it. And all their kids (except mine) are friends with each other and their parenting style is very different from mine so when we stray from the topic at hand, which we invariably do, I have nothing to contribute to the convo. Sigh.

      • I thought the point of book group was to read books you hadn’t read before? If all of your kids are friends, then I can definitely see how you wouldn’t want to insult anyone, whether or not it was intentional. I would love to join a book group and there are plenty in Chicago, but I’m kind of chicken. It would be expanding my comfort zone to join one. lol I found one for professional women in their 20s/30s; well, I’m in my 40s. Also, I no longer work, so if the topic strayed to work, pfft. I don’t know what the hell “net net” means and I don’t care to! Even if I still worked, it would be in academia, so….

Leave a Reply

