Booking through Thursday: Records

Standard

Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday asks: Do you keep a list of the books you’ve read? How? In a journal? Through one of the online services? If so, WHY? To keep good records for future reference? To make sure you don’t accidentally reread? If not, why not? Too eager to move on to the next book? Too lazy? Never thought to bother?

I have tried to keep lists! I have tried pretty much every possible way. I have set up accounts on goodreads and library thing. I have bought pretty little notebooks with lined pages and “Booklover’s Journal” embossed in script on the cover. I have bought lovely plain moleskine notebooks too. But I’ve never been able to stay with the list for more than a few titles.

The thing is, I frequently don’t finish books. Life is too short to waste on bad books. I have no qualms about this whatsoever. But I never know what to do with Quit Lit. Should I list them? Or not? How far do I have to read before I can list it? If I list it and then quit, should I delete the listing? Ugh. Now this decision (to quit reading) that previously felt quite natural and organic has suddenly become fraught with difficulty.

And another thing, I love rereading. Probably half my reading is books I’ve already read at least twice before. Should I list those books too? Should I list them anew, every time I read them? Do I really want to reveal to the world what a fangirl I am? I don’t think so.

So… no. No lists here. What about you?

2 thoughts on “Booking through Thursday: Records

  1. I mostly use Goodreads, but I list/rate the books as I read them. I am a total re-reader and don’t care. There may even be a section for each book in Goodreads that asks if it’s a re-read, but I’m not sure that your friends can see it.

    I do list the books that went from my Currently Reading shelf to my Nope shelf. Sometimes I will even write a review and give it one star (for didn’t like it). I have a 50-page rule, I’ll read 50 pages and if I feel like stabbing my eyes at that point, then I stop reading. It’s harder to tell when 50 pages is on my Kindle, so from now on I’m going to say 15%. OK, maybe 20%. At least with the Kindle I can get a free sample that gives you maybe the first chapter. If I decide I don’t like it, I don’t buy it and don’t list it, like J.K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy. I only list books I have actually purchased or borrowed from the library.

    Btw, I am a total lister, except for To Do lists because they overwhelm me. I want to catalogue every single book I own. I’m a librarian at heart. :)

Leave a Reply

