I got an award!

Standard

Liebster Award!Thank you so much Bee for nominating me for this Liebster Award! Ain’t it pretty?

So — I am now supposed to reveal eleven random facts about myself and then answer the eleven questions that she posted. Here goes:

Eleven random* facts about me:

1. I am a non-practicing lawyer. So are quite a few of my friends. In fact some of the most interesting people I know are non-practicing lawyers. I actually did quite well in law school and enjoyed it a lot. I was even Managing Editor of the law review, tee hee. But I had my first child while I was still in school and then I decided to stay home with the baby. I did get my degree and pass the bar, but never actually practiced law.

2. My husband and I were friends in high school. Our sister-in-law was also in our class. Very cozy!

3. I am an extremely hands-off parent, at least compared to most of the other moms I know. I believe my role is to help my children cope with the obstacles that arise — not to jump in ahead and smooth the way for them. My kids have been in public school, collectively, for 23 years. In that time I have only once called out a teacher, and it was because of curriculum concerns, not her treatment of my individual child. I have never requested that my child be placed in a particular classroom, and I have never complained to the principal about anything, ever.

4. I have fainted many times in my life (mostly when I was in my teens) and once had an out of body experience. I also experience hypnagogic imagery and semi-lucid dreams quite often.

5. Speaking of dreams, my dreams are always in color and almost always involve houses or buildings that have interesting architecture.

6. Still speaking of dreams: my dad was a professor of clinical psychology and this was quite a burden to me. Some people get Catholic guilt? I got Freudian angst. I grew up believing that people have secret motivations of which they themselves are not aware; that people don’t say what they mean or mean what they say; that everyone is sick and twisted under the surface. I have mostly shed this mindset, but I don’t like to share my feelings and I never tell my dreams unless they are funny.

7. Genetically I am extremely mixed. My mother’s family literally goes back to the Mayflower, whereas my father didn’t come to the US until he was 15. Three cheers for hybrid vigor!

8. Speaking of genetics, my older son’s personality is practically a carbon copy of mine. It is a really weird thing to see your self, in a person of the opposite gender and almost 30 years younger. However we have a great relationship and I think part of the reason why is because we understand each other all too well.

9. Food. I will eat absolutely anything if it is cooked from scratch with fresh ingredients. But I am extremely squeamish about processed foods. I was way ahead of the curve on this. When I was a kid in the 1970s I was terrified of fast food. You could not have paid me to eat a Big Mac. Still feel that way.

10. Speaking of Big Macs, I’ve been using Mac computers since 1986. At first I was extremely offended by the GUI. Excuse me, but I don’t need a picture of a folder to understand the structure of my file directory. I thought it was so condescending, not to mention messy. LOL, now.

11. Love olives, especially the super salty oil-cured ones. Hate raisins, especially the yellow ones that look like boogers.

*Obviously these are not truly “random” facts. I don’t think any of us would want to know truly random facts about each other. :-)

Eleven questions answered:

1. Why did you start blogging? I blog because I cannot rest until I’ve said my thoughts out loud. As you might guess, I was a hand-raiser in school — not because I was gunning for grades but because I literally could not stop myself from saying what I was thinking. (My teenage son tells me this is because I am an INTJ with a very well developed Te (extraverted thinking) function.) I had a nice little blog 5–6 years ago where I blogged under my real name. Eventually for various reasons I had to quit. But the urge to return was always in the back of my mind. So, here I am again. Finding the blogosphere changed in a lot of ways, but having a lot of fun writing, exploring, and meeting new people. Just wish there was more hours in the day.

2. Which genre do you prefer reading: fiction, non-fiction/memoir, poetry, other (sci-fi/fantasy, young adult, mysteries,/thrillers, romance etc.)? I read fiction almost exclusively. Overall I care more about the quality of the writing than the particular genre, but I mostly stick with literary fiction, classics, historical fiction, sci fi, and the occasional mystery/thriller. The heroic quest is my least favorite type of plot so I don’t read too much fantasy. And I don’t read YA, romance, or chick lit at all. At. All.

3. What is your favorite recipe? Pot roast! It only has two ingredients, and tastes divine. The two ingredients are: a piece of beef (“chuck roast” or something similar) and a packet of Lipton’s Beefy Onion Soup Mix. Sprinkle the contents of one package of soup mix on top of the beef, wrap tightly in tin foil and place on a cookie sheet. Put it in the oven at 275° for 3 hours. Done!

chuck roast

the chuck roast

beefy onion

the soup mix

4. Beer, wine, cocktails/spirits, or none? Occasionally. I am a lightweight. One glass does it for me. Also I am not a sophisticated drinker. I can tell red from white but that’s about it. I do like a dirty martini though. And I like my beers hoppy.

5. If there was a potion you could take to live another 1,000 years without aging, would you drink it? Why or why not? Of course!! Who wouldn’t? Don’t you want to know what’s going to happen????? Why is this even a question?

6. Have you seen any of the Star Wars movies? If so, which was your favorite? If not, how come? I’ve seen them all. And *small voice* I didn’t really like any of them. I’ve never understood why people like it. I’m the same about Jane Austen. I just don’t get it.

7. Have you ever had annoying neighbors? What was annoying about them? Oh lordy, yes I have. We used to live right in the middle of a student neighborhood in a college town. The street we lived on was actually an alley with five houses on it, all owned by the same landlady. This landlady was a long-time resident of the town who loved these houses because of their historical significance, and she cherished the thought that she was preserving what had once been a cozy family neighborhood in an area now overrun by undergrads. So she kept the rents low and was choosy about her tenants. One  was a middle-aged single woman who had lived there for more than a decade. In many ways this woman — let’s call her Elphaba — was a model tenant. She kept her house and yard immaculate, did small repairs herself, always paid her rent on time, and clearly appreciated the neighborhood’s history. But Elphaba had a sharp tongue and a very short fuse. You did not want to get on her bad side, ever. If you let your grass get a half inch too long? If your guest parked in her spot? If your kid left their trike in the alley? She would curse. you. out. Viciously. And she would regularly wake us up in the middle of the night, yelling at the undergrads to turn down their music & take their party inside. O irony — it was not the students who woke us up, but her yelling at them to be quiet. I would have loved living there if it weren’t for Elphaba.

8. Do you play a musical instrument? If so, what do you play? Mainly I noodle on piano and clarinet, but we actually have quite a few different instruments in our house which I pick up from time to time — mainly violin, guitar, mandolin, and uke. All my kids take lessons and music making is a huge part of my daily life in many ways.

9. Do you, like me, think the term “Black Friday” sounds like an evil, Satanic, devil-worship feast day? Totally.

10. What was the last movie you saw? Did you like it? No spoilers, please! Life of Pi in 3D AND I ADORED IT!!!

11. What was the last book you read? Did you like it? No spoilers, please! The last book I finished was The Art of Racing in the Rain. I did not like it.

Heh, that was fun! Thank you Bee!!

Alas, I’m not sure I can pass this award along. I’m so new here that I really haven’t found much of a community yet. I think I will just hold this in reserve for now. Hopefully will get to know more bloggers that I can tag in the future.

3 thoughts on “I got an award!

  1. Thanks for posting! I love learning things about people. The Mayflower????? Wow!

    I’m currently reading The Hobbit. I don’t know why because I’m not a huge fan of fantasy (except GoT, but that’s not traditional fantasy). Don’t ever read it if you haven’t already because it is totally a heroic quest. I’m enjoying it, sort of, but I’d much rather see the movie. The cinematography for Life of Pi looks absolutely gorgeous. I’m not sure I’ll see it though, because I can guess the ending based on the damn trailers.

    So if you met your husband in h.s., when did you actually start dating? Or maybe that’s too personal a question.

    Thanks for the pot roast recipe! It sounds like even I can make it — two ingredients, totally! But that’s if I could get over my thing about touching raw meat. lol

  2. Pot roast. I know, right? But you can do it without touching the meat. The only hard part is getting it out of the package and onto the tin foil. If you can do that you don’t ever need to actually touch the meat, just the tin foil.

    Husband. We lost track of each other after h.s. but both of us separately had stayed in touch with a mutual friend. We met again through her and started dating around 1991. We are a happy old married couple now. It’ll be 20 years this summer. Also here’s a random fact: we got married on the fourth of July. We didn’t set out to do that, it just worked out that way. So we ALWAYS get the day off from work. And parades and fireworks! And everyone remembers it. :-)

    Life of Pi. Aww, you should still see it even if you know the ending. I had already read the book and knowing how it ends only adds to the pleasure IMO. Gorgeous photography, incredible acting, seamless special effects. It is such a literary book that I really didn’t think they would be able to convey it on screen very well… but they did an amazing job with it. Really!

    Fantasy. Ha, I have read the whole LotR but never really liked it. GoT is a totally different story. I can’t believe how much I am loving it. But you’re right, there’s nothing at all quest-y about it. It’s politics. And the whole backdrop of years-long summers & winters. Such a simple idea but with such huge ramifications. I love love love it.

    • I love the story of you and your husband :)

      Still not convinced that I can not touch the meat, but I may give it a try. My husband would appreciate the surprise of coming home to dinner. lol

Leave a Reply

